Trinity Swimming Defeats Puget Sound in Home Meets

Trinity Swimming Defeats Puget Sound in Home Meets

San Antonio - The Trinity men's and women's swimming teams defeated the University of Puget Sound (WA) Tuesday in non-standard distance races at Hixon Natatorium.


The Tiger women beat the Loggers 123-88, and the men emerged as 102-75 winners.

Mabel Fowler won two women's individual events. Fowler swam the 150-yard backstroke in 1:35.10 and the 300-yard freestyle in 3:04.75.

Lindsay Hagmann won 100-yard individual medley in 1:02.99 and the 150-yard freestyle at 1:26.79. Elizabeth Ryan was the champion of the 50-yard freestyle race.

The Tiger women also won the two relay events, starting with the 100-yard medley race. Caroline North, Hagmann, Star Rosales, and Ryan touched the final pad in 52.81 seconds.

Five swimmers made up the final event of the day, the 450-yard freestyle relay. Rosales, Ryan, Fowler, Hagmann, and Abbie Jones clocked in at an outstanding 4:10.78.

Shamzi Alkaff was a two-time men's winner, capturing the 50-yard and 150-yard freestyle races. 

Charles Clark took first place in the 100-yard individual medley at 55.41 seconds, while teammate James Warren won the 150-yard butterfly. Noah Stopkotte won the 150-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:37.17.

Connor McClure came out victorious in the 250-yard individual medley, and Eamon Morris was tops in the 150-yard backstroke. 

The 100-yard medley relay went to the team of Clark, Colton Smith, Alkaff, and Cole Rezsofi, and the quintet of Rezsofi, Alkaff, Clark, Leon Faulk, and Mick Kossl won the 450-yard freestyle relay to wrap up the meet.

It was an all-Trinity meet in the diving competition. Christine Peterson won both the 1-meter and 3-meter women's boards, and Daniel Valmassei took the men's.


The Tiger swimmers and divers conclude their regular-season home schedules January 19-20. Trinity's divers will host the State University of New York-Fredonia  and Southwestern (TX) University both days. and the Tiger swimmers meet Southwestern on January 20.