Trinity Sweeps SCAC Swimming & Diving Championships

Trinity Sweeps SCAC Swimming & Diving Championships

The Colony, Texas – The Tiger men's and women's swimming & diving teams swept the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Championships on Saturday.



The Tiger women's team topped 1,000 total points to win by 72 over Colorado College, while the men ran away with a 161-point win over Southwestern (TX) University.

First-year Head Coach Scott Trompeter and his staff were honored with the 2018 SCAC Staff of the Year awards for both the men and women.

After prelims set up the last day of swimming finals, the Tiger divers took to the pool and swept the men's 3-meter and women's 1-meter events.

Daniel Valmassei is the fourth Trinity men's diver in the last five years to win the 3-meter competition, followed closely by teammates Duncan MacAskill and Anthony Liva in the silver and bronze positions.

Christine Peterson made it a sweep for Tiger diving by winning the 1-meter women's board, marking the 13th consecutive win for the Tiger women in this event.

Valmassei and Peterson were named the SCAC Men's and Women's Divers of the Meet, respectively, after winning both the 1-meter and 3-meter competitions over the past two days.

Jacob Hurrell-Zitelman was the SCAC Men's Swimmer of the Meet for the second consecutive season, capped by tonight's win in the 1,650 freestyle in a "B" cut time of 15:58.45.

Hurrell-Zitelman becomes the fourth Trinity swimmer to win the mile race twice since 2009, joining Andrew Battles, Alex Miranda, and Andrew Thiesse.

Payton Green won the women's 1,650 free in 17:58.49, marking the sixth straight season that Trinity has won the event.

In the 200 backstroke, Charles Clark posted a "B" cut time of 1:50.07 to win the men's event, while Eamon Morris was third for All-SCAC honors.

On the women's side, Trinity went 2-3-4 in the race, led by Mabel Fowler's "B" cut time of 2:03.37 for the silver medal. Paige Johnson was third, followed closely by Ashley Ward.

Lindsay Hagmann won her third straight 100 free race with a "B" cut time of 51.51 seconds, which is also the fifth Tiger woman in the last six years to capture that event. Lauren Cuda earned All-SCAC honors by finishing third with a time of 52.73 – just 0.02 seconds from silver. Trinity had six of the eight finalists in the women's race.

Shamzi Alkaff won bronze in the men's 100 free, finishing in a time of 46.97 seconds. Leon Faulk won the "B" final in 47.56 seconds for the Tigers.

Elliott Fleming and Noah Stopkotte both earned All-SCAC honors in the men's 200 breaststroke. Fleming was second in 2:08.07, followed closely by Stopkotte in 2:08.48.

Trinity's men went 1-2-3 in the 200 butterfly, including Beau Tipton's gold medal race to become the first Tiger to win the event since 2012. James Warren was second, followed by Nate Borchers in third place.

The Tiger teams finished the night by sweeping both the finals and consolations in the 400 free relay events. Each "B" final relay for the Tigers swam the third-fastest time of the night.

On the women's side, Lindsay Hagmann, Abbie Jones, Lauren Cuda, and Star Rosales raced to a "B" cut time of 3:29.09 to win gold. Liz Ryan, Allison Hardin, Mabel Fowler, and Rebecca Andruzzi won the consolations. The Tiger women have now won the event three times in the last four years.

The Tiger men's team of Charles Clark, Eamon Morris, Cole Rezsofi, and Shamzi Alkaff took gold in a time of 3:05.41. It is the fourth time in the last five years that Trinity has won the event. Like the women's consolation race, Thomas Lauerman, Leon Faulk, Beau Tipton, and Mick Kossl had the third-fastest overall time to win the "B" final.

For more detailed information about the conference event, visit the SCAC Championships Website.



Trinity will await official invitations for the NCAA Championships in swimming. Several Tiger divers will also compete in the NCAA Zone Regional Tournament, hosted by Trinity on Friday-Saturday, March 2-3.